Time Travel Is All It’s Cracked Up To Be

I woke up this morning and realized it had happened again. Another year had gone by.

(Okay, so it was really about a month ago, and I hated the fact that I was feeling anxious just knowing that the year was almost upon me.)

A year of what? A year of waiting for the next NaNoWriMo. Yes, not only did I feel the longing to write, but also the pain of realizing that I was going to have to come up with another story. More characters. More scenes.

Yeah, yeah, I can go into the insane thoughts of not writing a novel this year, of just paying attention to my day job, or going out more, or whatever.

The problem is: I like it. I like the adreneline rush of working on an outline as the first deadline approached (November 1, that is), and the insanity of getting up every morning during the week at 6 a.m. to update the outline, check the word count, and bother my daughter if she was falling behind (yes, she participates every year and has been doing it much longer that I have. In fact, she inspired me so much that I had to do it. This is my second year).

Now to be fair, I have been taking an online screenplay writing class with Corey Mandell and Talton Wingate out of California which has been taking a lot of my time. I thought I was going to be writing a screenplay every other month and then NaNo in November. Not so much. The workshop is intense and demands attention. No, it is not rocket science, but like any other skill you have to pay attention. You have to practice. You have to work.

For the last 10 months, to be exact.

Nano was the light at the end of the tunnel. A full story! Woo hoo! What a way to go!

And here it is. We are deep into November, I have been writing my story while doing my day job, and juggling the usual assortment of daily tasks and relationships that make life worth living.

As a species we travel in time all the time. Only in one direction (for now). I love well told time travel stories and (non)linear stories about characters I care about really turn me on.

Last year’s story was a Young Adult/Techno-thriller. This year it is a horror/comedy. I am enjoying writing this one just as much as last year’s even through the cloud of anxiety that constitutes the ticking clock that keeps me writing words every day during the week (and the weekends when I fall behind).

Riddle me this:
What is your story about this year?
What word count are you aiming for?
Do you have a process or do you just pants?
If you have a process what is it and do you change it over time?
Are you on schedule for November 30?

My NaNo ID is cvalcarcel. Say hello!

About cvalcarcel

Any and all opinions stated here do not reflect the thoughts, opinions or anything in any way shape or form of whoever my current employer happens to be at any given time. The opinions stated here probably don't even reflect my own opinions.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

